Skip to content

Foodie Friday: Smitten.

January 8, 2010

Smitten Kitchen, that is.

I’ve only recently discovered food blogs. That is, over the holiday, while i was sitting on my tush, i laid of the Mario for a minute and picked up my computer, only to spend hours making myself voraciously hungry via the power of food bloggers.

So far, Smitten Kitchen has been my favorite. It’s heavy on the desserts, which kind of make me drooly, but i seldom actually bother with them. Generally it’s a factor of (time, of course, and) needing people to feed them to. Because, personally, the idea of warm butternut squash and chickpea salad makes me way more drooly than anything made of sugar can.

So, it’s a cop out, perhaps, but you’ll thank me:

Warm butternut squash and chickpea salad with tahini dressing at Smitten Kitchen

I wasn’t kidding. Oh, and if there is anything i want right now more than a new roof, it is probably to be able to take photographs of food that look like hers! Her writing is wonderfully cute, as well.

Of course, that isn’t exactly how i made it. I didn’t have any red onion around, and i was too lazy to pull up the recipe when i was ready to cook it, so i went by memory.

It was swell – spectacular. I’m eating the leftovers for lunch right now, and that note at the bottom is no lie.

As for what i did differently – or, the only part of note – having no red onion, i substituted yellow onion which must be cooked (in my world). So i fried up the yellow onion in some olive oil over low heat, figured i might as well add the garlic to that part too, and then figured it might help to add the chickpeas as well. That was a stroke of genius. That is, i have never been a huge fan of just chickpeas, but mostly because i find them too crunchy and a little grainy – so i generally eat them as paste. Just a few minutes of low-heat frying completely changed that. They were certainly still structurally sound and have a bit of a crunch, but don’t feel quite so grainy and cracker-like to me.

Lady Brett

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 12:29 pm

    I LOVE SMITTEN KITCHEN. I *still* haven’t found another food blog that I find quite as perfect. She’s so cute, and the pictures are beautiful, and she’s so approachable and posts things that are actually doable for an amateur like me (as opposed to some of the fancier food blogs that basically do restaurant-type recipes which, let’s be honest, I don’t really want to cook like that 7 days a week).

    YUM!

  2. January 10, 2010 11:22 pm

    I love food blogs, but I hadn’t heard of this one! I’ll add it to my list.

    The other two I like a lot are Picky Palate and Pioneer Woman. They’re pretty simple and pretty accessible. The photos are great, too.

    Thanks for the heads up on this one!

  3. January 14, 2010 4:29 pm

    I LOVE SMITTEN KITCHEN TOO!!! I’ve made a fair few of her recipes and not a one has failed me yet. I am not a good cook and don’t even really like to cook ~ but I like to eat and I get bored sometimes with my limited repertoire. Oh yes, Deb is good.

Leave a Reply

