Skip to content

“just the beasts under your bed”

April 28, 2009

Okay, so i was watching (listening to) Rachel Maddow just now, and i must admit i had a hard time containing myself when it came to the part where she started playing Enter Sandman. Because, honestly, it gets kinda lonely out here as a nerdy, boring Metallica fan.

I mean, even when i was hopelessly angsty, i was never angry, and far from hardcore – i didn’t really fit the bill. All my music-nerd friends either think they’re sell-outs (and therefore can’t appreciate their music anymore), or don’t think they’re metal enough. My other friends fall into two music camps – lesbian guitar music or top-40 radio.

But The Beatles, The Black Album and Pump are what comes to mind when i try to recall music i listened to at, say, eight (it’s what comes of having a brother who was 13 then).

Little Brett lullabies

The Black Album, once i stole it from my bro, (and the White Album, my first very-own cassette) got me through many years of insomnia. I still think it is among the most soothing music i’ve ever heard. (Frankly, i kind of agree with the industrial scene that it isn’t really that hardcore. Which is, you know, why i like it so.)

Just wanted to share my happy reminiscing – and throw out there how happy it made me to see some other nerdy dyke get all fan-girl about Metallica.

Lady Brett

"Enter Sandman" - Metallica
One Comment leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 7:29 am

    I love the Beatles and am quite the fan of Metallica’s black album. You and Rachel are not alone.

Leave a Reply

