Skip to content

“Arrows of Dogwood/Flew from the bow”

April 24, 2009

I just had a total flashback!

And an answer to the implied question in, “I really always wanted dogwoods to be my favorite tree (i have no idea where that came from)”

Ahem: Flower Fairies. Does anyone else remember these (i didn’t)? There it is – my flashback to having all of the flower fairy books, and being particularly and totally smitten with the Dogwood Fairy:

is this not the most tomboy fairy ever?

Is this not the most tomboy fairy ever?

Lady Brett

from the dogwood fairy poem - Cicely Mary Barker
(or was she only the artist? i'm unclear on that.)
One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 9:51 am

    Remember?? I LOVED those books. I didn’t own them, so I spent hours and hours reading them at the library. the illustrations are so beautiful, I couldn’t tear my eyes away. how lovely that her books are bound up with your love of dogwoods! they were one of my (now departed) grandmother’s favorites as well. I learned a lot about flower cultivation from her.

Leave a Reply

