Skip to content

A femme guide to butch drinks. Part 1.

February 6, 2009

Whiskey.
W-H-I-S-K-E-Y
Whiskey.

(Sorry, inside  joke – result of a drag photo that looks incriminatingly like a spelling bee.)

Whiskey has always been my favorite liquor. For the most part that meant that i liked whiskey and coke. Turns out, i like whiskey.

I learn that sort of thing through trial and error. With regard to alcohol, i like to play a bit. I like to test things out. And i’m trying to get a good grasp on what it is i like and don’t. This involves two things – the alcohol and what you do with it.

First: the alcohol – a taste-test by lady brett.

Jim Beam. Beam is my go-to booze. Nearly anything that is more mixer than alcohol, i make with Jim. Basically, it’s as cheap as you can go without sacrificing quality. (From what i’ve tried. Let me know if you have an economy-bourbon suggestion!)

Jack Daniels. I love their logo, and the way you can say “Jack” and any lush around will know what you mean, but quite honestly i never ever buy the stuff. Anything i’d make with Jack is as good with Jim, and anything better is fully worth the extra three bucks for a good bourbon.

Maker’s Mark. Speaking of good bourbon. You can’t go wrong with some Maker’s.

(If i didn’t love the taste of bourbon, i might still drink it for the awesome bottles – they all come in awesome bottles. I like to buy the 350ml ones ’cause they’re cute. And a decent size to try something new without totally breaking the bank.)

Aren’t they pretty?

Knob Creek. Knob Creek is the reason i don’t buy Maker’s Mark. ‘Cause if i’m going to buy the good shit, it is absolutely worth the couple bucks to get the best. And by the best, i mean the best i’ve ever had. Knob Creek is what i make cocktails out of. Or drink on the rocks. Sometimes i open the bottle just to smell it, actually. Also, the small bottle of this is so pretty! It gets a little goofy looking in big, though.

Bulleit Bourbon. Buy it once, just for the awesome bottle. I only got it once, quite a while ago, so i can’t tell you the details, but i didn’t like it. On the other hand, my bro says it’s his favorite. So, whatever floats your boat. And if you don’t like it much, you can always make a whiskey-coke from it =)

Oh, and sometimes i drink things that aren’t bourbon.

Jameson. Frankly i don’t see what the fuss is about. It’s a perfectly decent whiskey, but so are a lot of things.

Bushmills. Bushmills is what i drank in Ireland. It was cheaper there. But it is my favorite non-bourbon whiskey. It’s milder than bourbon – which is nice sometimes – without sacrificing a good flavor.
Black Bush i haven’t had since Ireland, but, as i remember, is even better. Darker, more flavorful. Also, quite a lot more expensive here, so i haven’t bothered.

Crown Royal. Maybe it’s just a Canadian whiskey thing (my experience here is limited), but it seems like the Budweiser of whiskeys – all brand, no flavor. I know, sacrilege – i have friends who’d have my hide if they heard me say such things about Crown.  I do dig the bottle and the bag.

Southern Comfort. Pleh. Not comforting. Is this really a whiskey, or do they just like to shelve it that way? I realize this isn’t really a review, but i’m just curious, ’cause i taste no similarities to all the good things listed above.

Lady Brett

P.S. I’m open to suggestions! Let me know if i’m missing out on anything (or if you think i’m sorely mistaken about one of these drinks).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 8:14 pm

    entirely agree about southern comfort. i’m glad to know it’s not just my yankee taste buds.

    i tend to drink irish whiskeys. jameson’s is fine, but i like powers better. also got turned out to ‘green spot’ by a friend but that is sold only there, i think.

  2. February 9, 2009 6:48 pm

    Wow, that’s a lot of whisky tasting you did there. But then there’s whiskey, and then there is whisky, and then? For good measure, there is Bourbon. *wink*

    Oh, and for the record, my favourite bourbon is Canadian Club!

  3. February 10, 2009 11:28 am

    well, it’s a long-term whiskey tasting project, not a one-off sort of thing =). i’ll have to add your suggestion to it (and leo’s if i make it back to ireland sometime)

  4. Geasa permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:27 pm

    Speaking as a Brit, you have to live here to get the Jamesons thing. To get the point you need to try a whiskey called Bells. That is our base whiskey, so anything is a step up.

    My favorite whiskey is Dewars, but it is only sold at the factory in the UK, so not an addiction that gets fed much.

    Just discovered Knob Creek, and the dollar went up, damn. Only one group of pubs sell it as well. True bourbon is a nightmare here, one bottle size, and hard to find. Bullitt is starting to pop up a bit to join Jim, and Jack, but so love the taste of Creek.

    Have you consider doing the whiskey trail? Well worth it but it pays to know what you like before hand.

  5. joliesse permalink
    February 12, 2009 11:14 am

    I am a lifelong bourbon girl, and can’t really disagree with any of your assessments…

    Well, except that I loathe scotch in any brand or form. But that’s more personal baggage than taste preference. ;)

    You can’t argue the giggle factor that you get when you’re all dolled up and in full-on femme evening attire, and order a bourbon with a splash and a twist. I’ve had bartenders ask, “Are you sure? That’s really strong stuff.” So fun!

  6. February 13, 2009 6:06 pm

    I’m in complete agreement. Knob Creek is my favorite, hands down. My bottle is dangerously low, in fact. I would buy nothing except Knob Creek, except that it’s so good I drink it too fast! So I buy Jack and Maker’s, which I use more for making Manhattans. I like Jack for cooking, too.

    We really need to get together for cocktails!

    xo
    SF

  7. February 14, 2009 12:07 am

    Just found your blog tonight!

    I agree completely about the SoCo and Crown. I tend to stick with Maker’s (some of that is sentimental, since I’ve been to the distillery in Kentucky and dipped my own bottle in the famous red wax) and then either Jameson or Bushmills.

    Great list! Makes me think I should do my own for vodka …

  8. grrlchef13 permalink
    February 14, 2009 10:34 am

    Buffalo Trace experimental batch bourbon….that is all

  9. Gary Swarm permalink
    January 22, 2011 11:08 am

    you’re right jacks good for cooking I use it for charcol lighter. Drank it, never

Leave a Reply

