Skip to content

“tell me why i need another pet rock”

March 11, 2008
Mine! Well, not mine, but the same type.

That’s right – i have a typewriter! Or, well, i will, soon. I just won it on ebay for $30. It is an Olivetti Lettera 22 – a 1950’s typewriter. This one started production in 1950 – i might be able to find out the exact date from the serial number once i get it. So excited! I really shouldn’t have been able to get this one for so cheap (that’s including shipping, which isn’t exactly cheap for typewriters), but the seller misspelled the name – both parts of it – so i don’t think anyone else even saw it.

Time to obsessively check the mail! Happy Brett!

Lady Brett
“eBay” – Weird Al

2 Comments leave one →
  1. linaria permalink
    March 17, 2008 7:33 am

    Yours truly has an Antique Machinery Fetish.

    I’ve got two old typewriters, only one of which I actually use–a 1940’s Royal that I got for free on Craigslist from a collector who was cleaning house. It takes up space. I suspect my girlfriend resents it. I don’t use it very often. But I love it to death and wouldn’t trade for anything…

    …except maybe a treadle sewing machine. Specifically a Singer 201. Yeah.

  2. Cee permalink
    May 16, 2008 6:47 pm

    Did you get your Lettera 22? Did you find the serial number ? I have one i’ve had since 1969 but i can’t find the serial number !
    If you can, let me know where it is. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

