Skip to content

“would you be the wind to blow me home?”

June 26, 2008

I’ve been toying with this password idea for a while. I really don’t like the idea. Though i can’t pinpoint why, it seems contrary to some undefined “values, vision and mission” of my blog. I think because it seems silly or unnecessary to hide any aspect of my personal life. There just aren’t things about myself that i feel the need to not own up to. (Or, perhaps, once i’ve gotten as far as owning up to them in my own head i’m fine with doing so to anyone who asks – or reads. Complete thought denial is a whole different issue.) But. I’m at a point where i’m never simply discussing my personal life. I’m discussing Jamie’s too; there’s too much overlap to extricate it. And i don’t feel like i quite have the right to discuss the finer points of that completely publicly.

I didn’t have any qualms about it with Jake, though. Somehow i don’t think those posts were as personal about her (they were mostly just personal about me). More to the point, i’m almost certain that Jake wouldn’t give a damn. Jamie i’m not sure about on that count – i can’t picture at all what she’d think about this blog.

But i’ve been growing a lot. My neuroses are surfacing – and being overcome, or softened up, or at least addressed. And i was (am) in serious need of some processing. So i ambivalently present: my first protected post.

Lady Brett
“Out Loud” – Dispatch

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2008 2:12 pm

    and?! what’s the password please? :)

  2. June 27, 2008 10:12 am

    I understand the battle between wanting to blog in public and yet sometimes needing a little space that’s less open to the free world. I would love the password.

  3. linaria permalink
    June 27, 2008 11:42 am

    I’ve gone from a totally-locked blog to a somewhat-locked blog back to totally-locked and now to mostly-public. I expect it’ll take a few more rounds before I get it right….this is why I’ll never be a top-list sexblogger.

    (But, of course, I read everyone else’s blogs even if I can’t write in mine…so I would love the password too, please.)

  4. June 27, 2008 8:40 pm

    I’d love the password.

    This is one reason I want to switch to WP…while I tell people I sleep with that I have this blog, and let them read it, I am constantly waiting for something to blow up in my face. I tend to write my more personal posts that I feel can’t make it up here, in my own LiveJournal.

  5. June 28, 2008 1:02 pm

    I’ve also been wondering about this lately, as generally my posts are protected because they are about other people who may not relish being written about online, or if they reveal something so idiosyncratic that anyone knowing me ‘in real life’ would be able to recognise me from it. I generally give out the password without any problems, but, after a sudden slew of requests from people I haven’t seen before, who don’t have blogs of their own either, I’m wondering whether I need to come up with some sort of criteria for it. I’ve got a bad gut feeling about a couple of the requesters, but no solid reason to refuse…

    On that note, I hope you don’t feel like you need to refuse me your password please!

Leave a Reply

