Skip to content

happy birthday to me

June 3, 2012

Hey, my birthday was last week.  It was awesome.  I am not really a birthday party kind of girl.  I think it’s got something to do with being the focus of things; kind of freaks me out.  That, and sometimes parties just kind of freak me out due to numbers of people (mind, our definition of a party isn’t much, but sometimes i’m just not up for more than about two guests…which even i don’t call a party).

But i hear the lack of party was upsetting to a certain 7-year-old boy who was spending the night.  As was the fact that i don’t really like cake.  But he was appeased; we have a fire pit, so obviously we could have a s’mores party!

And we did – though we have been calling it my pinwheel party.  I am told the pinwheels were the boy’s idea as well.  There were pink-and-purple pinwheels, and pink-with-white-polkadot pinwheels, and blue-and-red pinwheels (a last-minute addition, “because Brett likes boy colors”).  It was quite lovely; there were four children and three adults (and two dogs), hotdogs and kabobs on the grill, and of course pinwheels and marshmallows (i don’t actually like s’mores either, but i love a good roasted marshmallow, and the distinction doesn’t seem worth troubling the poor boy with).

It was a lovely shindig – but that was my birthday-eve.  My birthday was just me and my baby, which is far better.  We had some very good fried rice, and amazing sex, and an odd, nice conversation about why i’m the only person i know who is entirely unconcerned about getting older; something that has come up a lot since this is my 29th (the theory is: as someone with no goals or ambitions, i don’t think “oh dear, i thought i would have achieved _______ by now,” which we suspect is what people really mean when they panic about being “old”).

So, happy birthday to me.  I’m not terribly excited about birthdays as a concept, but i had quite a lovely one.  And my baby got me a homebrew kit and some under-the-bed straps to alleviate the fact that we have no headboard.  ‘Cause she loves me, obviously.

-lady brett

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2012 7:00 am

    Happy Birthday!! I am going to be 38 in a couple of weeks and I still have no problems with aging. It’s a non issue and I like that about me. Being fixated on something you can’t change just seems unhealthy. So, good for us! :)

  2. June 14, 2012 6:41 pm

    Thumbs up on pinwheels and roasted marshmallows! I’ve actually been thinking about you lately because I repaired my own dishwasher (seriously can you believe it?!!). I’m so excited about being a handyfemme. Who knows, I may even blog about it!

    Happy belated b’day, Lady B. Hope you have a wonderful year! xoxo SF

  3. June 14, 2012 9:48 pm

    thanks, dears!

    greg – i’m so glad to hear that. i’m generally rather self-confident, but when no one else shares your views, it does start to make you wonder…so it’s good to hear.

    sf – i’m so proud! dishwashers are terrifying! i’d love to hear all about it, you certainly ought to do a post.

Leave a Reply

