Skip to content

“if i could learn and be complete”

November 2, 2011

So, i was perusing facebook this morning (my god, what has become of me?), and ran across this image, posted by a cousin (note: included for context only*):

As i was preparing to ignore it, i noticed a comment,

Evangelical Aunt You are right on!

Truth be told, it made me a bit misty-eyed.  I kind of hate that image, but it’s totally worth it to see that response.  This is my aunt who wouldn’t discuss our wedding with my mother at the time (of course, there are a lot of things they don’t discuss, although they are very close).  Which was really okay with me – it’s not like she was rude about it (or has ever been rude in her life) – they even sent a lovely card and a gift.  But the difference between that and the comment above is not insubstantial, and it is rather heart-lifting.

*With regards to the image above, they are not friends of mine (or, most likely, yours), and their actions do not affect me, and as such it is not my business.  Not my business to care what they do with their life, and not my business to be mean to strangers about their actions.  And not my business to support the businesses that do make money off of caring about and being mean to celebrities. I’d rather have ignored the whole thing, but i had to share the rest.

Lady Brett

"Get Right With God" - Lucinda Williams
2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 1:46 pm

    It’s impossible to ignore the Kardashians! I try SO HARD. They are everywhere. It’s really great that she’s bringing awareness to same-sex marriage, even if it’s unintentional.

  2. November 2, 2011 1:56 pm

    that depends a great deal on the circles you travel in. if you were as socially pathetic as i, it would be far easier =)

Leave a Reply

