Skip to content

“i’m mooning all the morning and mourning all the night”

June 2, 2011

Hey y’all.

I’m unfortunately unsure of what else to say. I have been a bit busy, but frankly that’s never stopped me before – the bigger issue here is that i am really at a loss. In an effort to jumpstart things, i think i shall steal two traditions from folks i am particularly fond of:

Bulletts (via greg)

  • The wedding was amazing. But i don’t feel like it had any lasting effect or caused any change (relationship-wise), which i am really uncomfortable with.
  • I had a birthday a few days ago. Apparently i am not good at having birthdays. Last year there were two people, which was nice, as more would have been too much for me. This year only one person could make it, for which i was so thankful. It was lovely, for the record!
  • We have had a houseguest for a month. This has happened before, but the last batch began to do our dishes out of guilt after a week.
  • The honeymoon was brilliant! So lovely! And relaxing! And just lovely!
  • My honey is so amazing at what she does. And i have discovered that it makes me much happier for her to be good at her stuff than for me to be good at mine.
  • But. I’m back at fencing. And i’m pretty pleased that one of our instructors told me i fenced well tonight.
  • P.S. my fencing instructors are the cutest people ever. I might have a crush on all of them. Or at least one or two.
  • Camping is awesome! Poison ivy, not so much.

Now, from Sinclair, “ask me anything” – i have missed my blog anniversary (which, having never managed to remember one, is essentially it’s own tradition now), but shall we say that it is for my birthday?

So, ask away! I’m inclined to see what folks may have on their mind, and goodness knows i could use a little push around here. (Don’t be shy – if you’ve spent any time around here you may know that there is little limit to what i find interesting!)

Lady Brett

“Black Coffee” – k.d. lang (from the album “Shadowland” which i spent most of a summer listening to. I particularly recall nights spent rather tipsy, repairing my bicycle in my folks’ barn in the middle of the night – followed by test-rides on a gravel road with no moonlight. There’s not much i miss about being 21, but that was rather nice, if forlorn.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 12:38 pm

    A very Happy Birthday, newlywed! And a huge congratulations on the marriage. The only thing I want to ask you is this: Can you please (with sugar and cherries on top) post pictures of the wedding? sigh…but I totally understand if you can’t. I will settle for any details you are willing to give. xoxo

    • June 6, 2011 9:21 am

      thank you, and i will! at least some of the lame ones of feet and decorations =) but perhaps i will password a post with some real photos.

    • Jamie permalink
      June 14, 2011 1:34 pm

      Jamie officially gives full permission for wedding photos to be shared :)

  2. June 5, 2011 5:47 pm

    Congrats on the wedding! And happy birthday!

    If I could ask anything … I’d ask you to say more about what you like about fencing. I’m fascinated by that!

  3. June 6, 2011 9:22 am

    thank you! hmm, i will have to think on that, so as to give you a more compelling answer than “it’s fun!”

  4. June 6, 2011 4:36 pm

    wedding wedding wedding! if you aren’t going to post photos, at least please give us some juicy descriptions of the outfits. I mean the moving ceremony where you probably wrote your own vows and said beautiful things to each other. what was it like? who officiated? does it feel different now? and most importantly, WHAT SHOES DID YOU WEAR? and what did she wear? I’m dying of curiosity.

    congratulations!!

    • June 8, 2011 8:16 am

      thank you!
      as for the shoes, our wedding happened to be very near (on?) your birthday – had things been more at ease, i was quite thinking of sending a wedding shot for your birthday shoe photo tradition =) i will, at the least, post it here, though.

  5. leo permalink
    June 8, 2011 7:57 pm

    I’m interested by your comment that getting married hasn’t changed anything and that you’re not so happy about that. So question #1 is: what was different about getting married than what you’d imagined it would be? Do you think any of the changes you expected will come in time, or alternatively, would come if your marriage were recognized by the state? I’m fascinated by this because I am still not sure exactly what I felt changed after our illegal & legal weddings, respectively, though I do think we relate differently than we would had we never married.

    Question #2. What old-time books or movies do you find to be surprisingly (or not surprisingly) relevant to your life? This might be too specific a question so feel free to re-write towards your own interests. I’ve just finished reading two books by EM Forster, both pre-WWI, and am amazed by how much resonates with my current life, about friendship, gender, privilege, race… and since I have an impression of you as steeped in older works of art, I’m curious what you think about this.

    Question #3. Are cocktails trendy in your corner of the world? If so, which ones do you like best these days?

  6. June 12, 2011 3:11 pm

    I vote for a wedding post! Who came, how were you supported/not by various family/friends… and pictures!!!

  7. June 13, 2011 9:39 pm

    happy birthday! I’ve probably already said it, but it can’t hurt to hear it again. I’m glad you’re around!

Leave a Reply

