Skip to content

“i know you, midnight rider”

January 24, 2011

We got a new bit of furniture. A jewelry armoire. No mind that we’ve hardly enough jewelry to fill my jewelry box. This has a higher use. Meet our new toy box:

a representation

It is an excellent toy box.  I love being able to keep things organized; it’s a weakness of mine. I shall have to get some pictures for you. It amuses me to no end to open the wings and see the things that are not necklaces hanging there.

But, really, the best part is how we ended up with it on accident. We were shopping, wandering the aisles at target. My Jamie, she has a hopeless weakness for the word “clearance,” and i, of course, love useless pretty furniture like vanity tables and jewelry armoires. So, naturally, we noticed this on sale. At which point we both, simultaneously, laughed, “that would be a perfect toy box.” I mean, really, is that the first thing two people think of on seeing that? Well, yes. So we got it.

It is quite an improvement over the big jumble of stuff in a box. I recommend it highly. Of course, that depends on how much space you need. It could be small – or excessive. I was rather surprised to find our full – i was hoping to put decoy jewelry in the top, perhaps some stockings.

Lady Brett

"Dark Side of Town" - Eliza Gilkyson
4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 2:57 pm

    what a *perfect* toy box! I’m a little envious. how big are the drawers though, do toys fit in there easily? they seem a little narrow. please post some photos of yours with toys if that’s not too revealing, I would love to see what it looks like all sexed out :)

  2. January 25, 2011 10:18 am

    it could be better, but the small drawers are nice for keeping things organized. on the other hand, the top drawers are segmented (jewelery box), which is a bit inconvenient for this use. as a size reference, the bottom drawer fits a “share” (if that’s the right name) diagonally.

    we’ve misplaced the camera charge, but i’ll post photos when that’s resolved.

  3. February 10, 2011 1:07 am

    Genius! Happy Valentine’s Day, darling.

    xo SF

  4. March 16, 2011 3:15 pm

    I second both previous commenters, express my jealousy and my intent to get one, now that it has a for real purpose! omgah. I bet I could put my sewing notions in it. And knitting needles. Ooooh!!!

Leave a Reply

