Skip to content

“i think you’re cute and misunderstood”

September 29, 2010

So, i’ve been a bit anxious lately. Mostly, we’re just busy – we’re always busy, and i kind of hate being busy.

Also, we’re getting married, which is, you know, a good thing, but my excitement is a bit squelched by a nice dose of panic. I have visions of the wedding rolling around and nothing happening – you know, because we haven’t done a damn thing to make it happen. We’ve discussed this, and the fact that it’s totally freaking me out, and are going to work to rectify it.

Till then, some thoughts on music. I love music, so i have, naturally, been sort of keeping an ear out for music i want to incorporate into our wedding. It has been fun, and i’ve discovered a bit of new music on the way, but i’ve run into something of a dilemma: i kind of like gloomy music.

Also, i can’t seem to embed a music widget in WordPress (curse you and your security features!), so go check out the playlist of songs that are currently on my mind for the ceremony (even if you don’t care, there is some really good music there). It’s ordered in sortof-kindof my order of preference.

Well, the first song there is, in fact, what we’ll be “first dance”ing to. I love it. I love it because Tracy Chapman has the most amazing voice ever, and because it just feels so real. Which is kind of the crux of my problem. I love good old lovey bubblegum music. Have you seen my Beatles collection? I really do adore old-fashioned cheese, but i feel like it’s kind of missing the point of this whole wedding/marriage thing.

But then, all the songs that really move me – the ones i really feel – are, well, kind of downers. Or, i think they would come off that way. Frankly, You’re The One and Tears Of Joy are heart-wrenchingly joyful to me, but i’m afraid that only comes off if you are paying close attention. Or, what’s more, if you happen to be me – it might be totally personal.

I’m undecided on how i feel about all this. And, of course, i haven’t talked to Jamie about it, who might maybe have an opinion (but it is music, so she might not). But i do know that the music is important to me. It is also important to other people, and i want it to work for them too.

Seriously, though, at least go listen to the music. There are some songs on there i am entirely head-over-heels for. Ah, it makes me all aflutter!

Lady Brett

"You're The One" - Tracy Chapman
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 6:43 pm

    I love that playlist! Good luck choosing your tunes – that’s a tough job. But you have so many great ones there, I don’t think you can go wrong.

  2. December 16, 2010 12:23 pm

    I plan to overload myself on Beatles tunes on my wedding day. I love them and I don’t care who knows it!

  3. December 21, 2010 6:42 pm

    Love your choices! I happened upon your general wonderfulness after googling images of New Amsterdam gin. HAHA.

    Like you, I find joy in somewhat sad-sounding music. A few track from my wedding ceremony playlist you may find interesting are Patty Griffin’s “Heavenly Day”, to which I walked down the aisle, and Hem’s cover of “A Dream Is A Wish Your Heart Makes”, which was played during the seating of our parents. “One Voice” by the Wailin’ Jennys played as the bridal party walked. Songs like “Young Folks” by Pete Bjorn and John, and a Susan Tedeschi cover of “Loving You (Is Sweeter Than Ever)” during the cake-cutting helped lighten things up.

    Congrats and all the best to you both!!

Leave a Reply

