Skip to content

“serve god love me and mend”

September 20, 2010

I’ve had a really lovely week.

Jamie went out of town, my dad came in town, me and Jamie went out of town, but for all that it felt really relaxed. Or, i feel relaxed after it, which might be different. It was probably the two days off work what did it.

Anyhow, Jamie was gone all week for work, which is a long time. But it was nice. I’ve realized that i have a very hard time getting things done with other people around – even Jamie. It’s something i’m trying to work on, but i am unsure what it stems from, which makes that difficult. Anyhow, i used to do a lot of the bustling, housework and projects when Jamie was at work at night, as well as silly personal things. Like this blog, which i now neglect terribly. So i kind of thought i’d play catch-up on some of that while she was out of town. Unfortunately, of the things i planned to get done last week that last one did not make it, as you may have noticed.

On the other hand, i got the hellhole of a kitchen/dining room cleaned with the help of a 9-year-old in want of book fair money, tore the kitchen up and put it back together differently with the help of my dad, and generally bustled around the house and watched some silly movies with the help of the pups and some beer. I’ll have to tell you more about the kitchen project soon, but i’m afraid it won’t make any sense sans photographs.

Over the weekend we went out of town to a fancy party that we didn’t have to pay for, which was – well, the party wasn’t exciting, but it was really fun to get all fancied up and spend a lot of time together. And we had a fantastic time in a hotel room. Oh my. And a lovely long drive home, where we stopped at an artist community/studio/sculpture garden/shop because the sign looked interesting. It was interesting. I highly encourage backroad routes (if your hopelessly motion-sick dog isn’t on the trip). Anyhow, the whole weekend was just magic. I missed her a lot – and i don’t think it had much to do with her being out of town.

Lady Brett

"Sigh No More" - Mumford and Sons
3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 7:16 am

    I love magical weekends like that and now I have the strongest urge to take a road trip.

    Good job getting all that work done!

  2. September 21, 2010 1:38 pm

    Road Treep! I am currently on one now. Glad you enjoyed your trips!

  3. September 21, 2010 9:19 pm

    Ooh, a fancy party? I need some of that in my life. And maybe that amazing road trip you took makes up for the week she was gone? Because that’s a long time. It sounds like you got a lot done, though. I love hearing about your projects.

Leave a Reply

