Skip to content

“i believe you should run with me, for a while”

July 29, 2010

We went to a movie last night. By which i mean Jamie petitioned me all day long and i finally relented because we had made dinner early. I am kind of a scrooge about movie theaters, but having a good dinner at home makes me calm and happy – and compliant, i suppose.

This started in the car on the way to work, and went something like this:

“something something, movies that are out now” “dollar theater” “real movies”

Jamie: “We should go see Salt. It has Angelina Jolie in it.

Me: “…”

Her: *puppy dog*

“um, so…what’s it about?”

“It has Angelina Jolie in it. Oh, and it’s like a modern Cold-War Russian sleeper spies movie.”

“Spies?!”

Apparently i am the only lesbian on earth who doesn’t think Angelina Jolie is – all by herself – a good reason to see a movie. That is not based strictly on this conversation, i’m just adding it to the towering pile of evidence.

Spies – especially Russian spies – are, however, a damn good reason to see a movie. I guess i just grew up on too much James Bond. Not to imply that there is such a thing.

All that was, actually, an aside. This is the real story, now:

Jamie having won, we were headed to the movie theater – the big fancy one we never go to, except they had the right showtime today – when Dreads (who no longer has dreads, but, for continuity…) called. ‘Cause he was driving behind us. He was running an errand, we told him we were going to a movie, and he should turn left now and come with us! So he did. It was awesome. It kind of reminds me what it’s like to have friends. I particularly like friends who are open to spontaneity. It totally made my night.

Also, Salt is awesome. It’s old-school action, and has restored my faith in the movie industry’s ability to make action movies that aren’t all techie bullshit.

…hi.

-Lady Brett

"Hey Darling Do You Gamble?" - Lucero
6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 8:46 pm

    i’m convinced, sign me up!
    missed you.

  2. July 30, 2010 1:32 pm

    Oooo I’m so glad you can vouch for it, because I’ve kind of secretly been wanting to see it! I actually *love* movie theater experiences (not big-mall-type movie theaters, but little-movie-house movie theaters… of which there are an abundance in San Francisco) and have been trying to convince ML to accompany me.

  3. July 31, 2010 11:20 pm

    hi. hi. and hi. Always fabulous to find you here. No, there is no such thing as too much James Bond and yes, spontaneous friends are always good to have and know and love… even blog-friends who would fly all the way across the country to go to a blog-friend’s wedding… am I right or am I right? Also, thank you for writing about current movies and in doing so NOT writing about The Kids Are Alright. Refreshing.

  4. August 1, 2010 1:02 pm

    I love friends like that! I appreciate it because I tend to be a planner, so when something like that spontaneously comes together, it’s all the more thrilling for me.

    I saw Salt this past week and loved it. Good, old-fashioned violence, fantastic action sequences, and a kickass female lead. I also loved that it was an original concept – not a remake of a tv show or adaptation of a book. We need more of that.

  5. August 2, 2010 9:25 am

    you’re so right, jesse.
    and i’m glad you appreciate it – but it is at least in part due to my not living somewhere big (or gay) enough to have had the chance to see the kids are allright ;)

    damn, i’ve missed y’all.

  6. August 8, 2010 12:24 pm

    For the record, The Kids are Alright was not nearly as good (or even memorable) as I thought it would be. I think it’s probably much more interesting to those straight people who experience the film as a window to an unfamiliar world. Definitely worth seeing but it’s not Brokeback Mountain.

    xo
    SF

Leave a Reply

