Skip to content

“we’d fire no guns; shed no tears”

February 23, 2010

I did something totally crazy; i bought a pair of athletic shoes. And they are now the most expensive shoes i’ve bought (technically speaking there are my cowboy boots, but they were a gift, and everyone knows a good pair of boots will last you the rest of your life. the hiking boots were an investment, too, but they’re from high school – and didn’t pay for them either. anyhow.) I wore them about yesterday, simply because, you know, they’re my new shoes. I told Jamie i felt like a poser, wearing shoes made for, umm, doin’ stuff. But! They are both comfortable and cute (who knew they came in cute?):

More importantly, i think they will be perfect for what i actually bought them for:

Fencing!

Fencing!

I am ridiculously excited about this. I’ve been going to practice for most of this year – weekly, excepting a lot of bad weather. I don’t have any gear yet, so i’m mostly running about in an awkward crouch – also known as “footwork” – but it is simply awesome. It’s a really lovely group, and i can’t gush enough about fencing, which, really, i’ve been sort of into since forever, but only gotten to dabble in briefly before.

Lady Brett

"Barrett's Privateers" - Hadrian's Wall
3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 9:03 pm

    oh my gosh, you fence? that’s amazing!

  2. February 23, 2010 10:05 pm

    Those are some fantastic shoes. And fencing? You’re so renaissance … I’m profoundly impressed and jealous all at once.

  3. February 24, 2010 3:47 pm

    I LOVE those shoes!!! I mean love, love!

    I have a soft spot for fencing as gf was into that years ago. There’s something so sexy about it – I’m sure that’s because of her, but still…

Leave a Reply

