Skip to content

Foodie Friday: “Nothing goes with cabbage like cabbage!”

December 11, 2009

Cabbage gets a bad rap – i’m not sure why. Possibly because it’s cheap as dirt, but in my mind that’s a good thing. More probably it falls into that category of vegetables that people hate just because they’ve only had cooked-to-death slop renditions of them. I’m guessing here; i can recall exactly one dish we had cabbage in as a child – cabbage and apples (red cabbage, fried up in butter and sugar; very simple, only i can’t ever seem to make it like Dad does).

Anyhow, i have more recently discovered that i love cabbage. My go-to cabbage side-dish is just frying it to tender-crisp with lots of garlic (salt and pepper). I think it’s brilliant.

Plus, it looks freaking cool.

Earlier this week i made a dish inspired by some recipe online, the grocery’s brussel sprouts (which the recipe called for) looking awful, and stuff laying around. It was:

1/2 head cabbage, sliced as thin as i could
1/2 onion, sliced the same
1 beet, julianned
1/2 package cappellini pasta
oil
sherry
veg. stock
salt and pepper

Cooked the pasta like pasta, drain. I fried the beet in a bit of oil separately from everything else in hope that the entire dish wouldn’t turn pink – it kind of worked. Sort of. But also it takes a bit more time to cook a beet. Fried up the onion a bit in olive oil, then added in the cabbage and a splash of sherry and splash of stock. Once the cabbage was a bit tender, add ed in the pasta and cooked it all about to get everything mixed and heated. I added the beets on top when it was time to serve.

The only problem was it was bland as hell. Jamie didn’t really eat any of it, and it was super-boring. So i took it to lunch the next day, and again yesterday. Because that’s what happens with all of the leftovers in the house, and especially the undesirable ones (my girlfriend doesn’t eat leftovers without external pressure). But it was actually pretty decent the first lunch, and really quite good yesterday. It needed some time to soak in the flavors.

Maybe more sherry and more cooking time would make this a one-off meal, but it certainly works as a make-ahead-and-reheat sort of thing. Not good cold, though.

Working with the other half of the cabbage now. White bean, fennel and cabbage soup. I had a recipe for it, but my favorite cookbook has taken a mysterious leave of absence, so i’m making shit up. Wish me luck!

Lady Brett

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 11:02 am

    Wow, that really does look so cool! And healthy. And easy to make. I’m on it, gf loves her some cabbage.

    That soup sounds really good, if it works out, please publish the recipe to that one. :)

  2. December 14, 2009 10:27 pm

    I haven’t really ever been a fan of cabbage, probably for the same reasons you listed above. But that recipe actually looks pretty good, and that garlic-fried cabbage? Sounds delicious.

  3. December 15, 2009 10:15 pm

    My mother makes a sweet and sour cabbage soup that I like, though it sounds weird to those who don’t have an Eastern European background. I have no idea how she makes it but the basics are beef, tomatoes, lemon, brown sugar, and raisins.

    Van loves my mom but won’t go near it. Cabbage apparently is not an acquired taste.

    xo
    SF

  4. December 16, 2009 8:25 pm

    Cabbage and I are very good friends. Most of my favorite meals involve cabbage actually (unless you consider cheesecake a ‘meal.) And I could, and have, eaten sauerkraut as a main entree more than once. So, sublime femme, I NEED that sweet and sour recipe! Call your mom! Tell us, please! That sounds too good and I don’t improvise well in the kitchen.

  5. December 21, 2009 12:10 pm

    I never dreamed anyone would want that recipe! OK, I will ask mom and report back. In the meantime, I think you foodies might enjoy my latest post. ;-) xo SF

  6. December 31, 2009 11:26 am

    yummy and healthy.
    what time is dinner? :-)

Leave a Reply

