Skip to content

“i’ve been lost, you know, i been down”

November 12, 2009

More lost than down, actually. Which is new to me – down is sort of my default form of discomfort.

Lady Brett

"Falling Down" - Charlotte Taylor
p.s. i'm clearly overdoing this layout/editing stuff.
it's beginning to piss me off that i can't have an em dash here.
p.p.s. also, em (the femme), it seems strange to admit, but your name always makes me think of em dashes.
that's a good thing, i promise; i have nothing but fond feelings for em dashes.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 5:38 am

    :)

    I hope you get un-lost soon. I guess un-lost would be found, although that doesn’t seem like the right word.

  2. November 13, 2009 7:28 am

    I’m sending you (((hugs))) because they always help me when I’m feeling lost. It will pass – I hope it does soon.

  3. November 13, 2009 11:32 am

    I hope you get found…

  4. November 13, 2009 9:17 pm

    I know the feeling.

    And in the spirit of your blog titles …

    “Don’t lose yourself/Don’t let yourself be lost.”

    “Don’t Lose Yourself” – Laura Veirs

  5. November 14, 2009 10:53 pm

    Hey, my lady (Brett), I’ve been away from the net and just found this. I don’t like it. You know you have a major soft spot in my world of nets and I would like to think, that somehow, when you are down that I could have something to offer on the side of up, seeing as how you can do that for me without even trying…

    I don’t have much but I can be an endless pocket of bad jokes and tired stories, if that might crack a smile? I also live in a city that makes some pretty fabulous chocolate and coffee and beer, if I could send some to help the low? Anything my dog could balance on her head to help a happy thought? Um, let’s see… well, have you tried listening to any Cher lately? If not, you might want to try that. I highly recommend Walking in Memphis (on my blog somewhere, of course… or youtube) it always makes me happy.

    Seriously though, I’m sorry you’ve been feeling down. Let me know if there is anything I can do…

  6. November 14, 2009 10:59 pm

    Ok, there was a turtle at the police station reporting that he had just been mugged.

    The officer said, “So, turtle, tell me what happened.”

    The turtle said, “I was just walking home and all of a sudden, the next thing I knew a snail came by and stole my wallet!”

    The officer said, “Ok, well, tell me more. What do you remember?”

    And the turtle said, “Look officer, it’s a little fuzzy. It all just happened so fast!”

  7. November 16, 2009 11:45 am

    em, i think that’s a lovely distinction – “found” seems like something that happens *to* you, that way someone else has to do the finding. hmm.

    jesse! you’re lovely. your joke definitely made me crack a smile. i don’t like to toot my own horn, but i am an excellent audience for really bad jokes,by the way. also, you may know or have guessed that chocolate and coffee and beer are some of my major weaknesses – and i am certain you know that the seal balancing things on her head is another of my weaknesses.

    so, thanks everyone; y’all make me smile!

  8. November 16, 2009 11:37 pm

    I miss you in the way that I miss people I have met before, and haven’t seen for a long, long time. Is ladybrett cafe open for business? I’ve been planning a trip to Nashville. Maybe I could make a “little” detour? We Southern bloggers have to stick together, right? Hope the house is holding together <3

Leave a Reply

