Skip to content

“you’re my mask; you’re my cover, my shelter”

October 31, 2009

I regret to inform you that there will be no costume this Halloween. It just didn’t work out. Mostly, i don’t have any plans for Halloween, and, well, you know about “all dressed up with nowhere to go.” There were discussions of hosting a Halloween party, but this is just not the year for it. The house is not really prepared for guests. Which brings me to my Happy Halloween post!

Office disaster

Spooky, huh?

The plastic is the result of walking in two days ago to find that “leaks under the window rather a bit” had been joined by “Oh, fuck! Who turned the faucet on in the blinds?!” Oh, and the rotten wood in the corner is the siding. Well, there is aluminum siding over it, but you can see that from the inside. hmm. On the bright side, wherever that water was coming from is sealed up – that, at least, is just old damage.

Kitchen Disaster 1DSCN0428Kitchen Disaster 3

This is, in an immediate sense, spookier than the first picture. That last one? That is all mold – everything that’s not wood (or crowbar). However, this is the kitchen floor, which you may remember my mentioning previously is done. All that terrifying stuff? Gone.

As such, the first picture is much, much scarier. Because it’s kind of way beyond me. Oh, and for added Halloweeny goodness, the roof leaks too. I don’t think i’ve mentioned my newfound antipathy for rain.

Anyhow, while i don’t have much in the way of plans for tonight, i will be donning my glow-in-the-dark skeleton shirt (when i get out of my pj’s) and giving out candy to tricker-treaters for the first time. I’m kind of keen on that idea. I’ll show y’all our pumpkin once it’s dark and lit up, too. It’s really cute. You didn’t think i’d scorned Halloween completely, did you?

Lady Brett

"Sad But True" - Metallica
6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 9:53 am

    Ah the joys of being a homeowner – I remember them well. Happy Halloween!

  2. November 2, 2009 11:54 am

    Violet and I have been back and forth on the home owning idea for a few years now. I have been on the buy! buy! buy! side of the track (we will need a pond of course, for fraidy.) However, like a screaming child in a supermarket, who temporarily squashes any maternal wanting, your woahs with the house do make me appreciate handing all house issues over to the landlord.

  3. November 3, 2009 3:29 pm

    Wow! Very intrepid with the home repair! I’m lucky enough that my gf is in the house building/repair business and since my house is over 100 years old, well, that’s just a beautiful synchronicity.

    I’ll be thinking of you as I empty the buckets under the skylights…

  4. November 3, 2009 8:24 pm

    jesse, that’s a wonderful analogy =) and, you know you can make a pond, if it comes to that (it’s just a hole in the ground, sort of), though the other stuff can be a bit more complicated. i’d like to think i’ve learned a thing or two getting myself into this mess, and if this house-buying thing ever comes up again (god forbid) i’ll know better what to look for.

    as it happens, my girlfriend has been known to refer to me as the landlord when things like this come up.

    haha, thanks, e!

  5. November 5, 2009 9:53 pm

    Yikes. I’m allergic to mold, so that last photo terrifies me! I’m so impressed by all the things you’re getting done in your house, though. You’re badass.

  6. November 6, 2009 9:02 am

    aww, thanks!
    i’m pretty much not allergic to anything, ever, and i was sick for three days after that floor project. thank god jamie was out of town!

Leave a Reply

