Skip to content

“how i miss you and i just want to kiss you”

October 23, 2009

I’ve opened up a “new post” window every day this week. Sometimes multiple times, but i can’t seem to focus, so here is what i’ve wanted to be writing about.

Body image, food, health, all that. Thanks for your comments on the last post, and they’ve gotten me rolling on one of my favorite topics again. Perhaps i will write abot me for once, as i’ve nearly exhausted my opinions on this crap. Though you should be excited to hear that the FDA is looking into regulating health claims on food (Smart Choices, anyone?).

Why i think marriage is stupid (and why i want to get married).

Also, this is awesome –

How i failed to patch the leaks in our roof. But the living room is turning out lovely! And i can’t believe i spent four hours cleaning last night and only got the house back to a state of “livable.” Clearly i need to teach my roommates about this “trash bag” thing. And, you know, do dishes a bit more often.

Femme Guide to Butch Drinks, parts 5,6, and 7. Fall! and Real Butch Drinks (or, what my butch drinks) part one: girly drinks, part two: virgin cocktails.

I think veggie soup with grilled swiss cheese sandwich is my new favorite comfort food. Sorry, that’s all the foodie friday you get.

There have been wonderful femme-theory posts going about, and i want to join in! Mostly i want to explore the idea that femininity is inherently impractical. I was cought up in that for a long time.

And wonderful music posts! I love music (and, specifically, thanks to G for reminding me that it’s about damn time to hear Brandi Carlile’s new album. I’m newly obsessed with this song.)

Speaking of which, my favorite thing, at the moment, about being home alone is being able to blast to a song on repeat. Because it’s just something you simply oughtn’t subject other people to. Even if it is the damn best song ever at the moment.

Lady Brett

"Dying Day" - Brandi Carlile
6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 5:43 pm

    well I, for one, am looking forward to both the various boozey posts and the femme-theory post (I call bullshit on femininity being impractical! and since I’m sure you do too, I’m looking forward to your thoughts!).

  2. Undercover Punk permalink
    October 23, 2009 7:07 pm

    Hello! I’m hounding around for theory regarding the practice of aesthetic femininity. Or, um, femme theory I suppose you might say. LBA, my apologies for the intrusion, but my curiously has gotten the best of me and I simply must ask: might you allow me to bother you for a reference to the posts you say have been going about?

    And while I’m here, I would add that dresses are quite practical (especially jersey wrap dresses and muumuus!). They’re super comfy, keep a girl cool in summer, and get her dressed in under 2 minutes (add those cute shoes, grab your bag, annnnnnd you’re done!). Purses are also quite practical; they hold all my crap. Which I need. :)

    Cheers!

  3. October 25, 2009 11:03 am

    not an intrusion at all, undercover punk! thanks for dropping in. the ones i was mostly thinking of were over at http://alphafemme.wordpress.com/ and http://sublimefemme.wordpress.com/ (among the most recent couple posts). though there is are a lot of great, smart femme bloggers out there. my blogroll is hopelessly outdated, but it might provide a start. i really ought to update the poor thing.

    anyhow, of course you are both onto me! =)

  4. grrlchef13 permalink
    October 25, 2009 3:13 pm

    I think you should coordinate your blogs a sort of kitchen sink mix and match if you will. It could possibly include 1. said butch cocktail of the week 2. appropriate butch cocktail attire 3. What might be playing in the background (over and over is ok, I love a song on repeat, delicious) 4. What would you eat with this lovely trifecta before you (you could ask some chef what they think :D ) and then somewhere in there throw in the queer theory piece, because good food and good drinks always could use good conversation. Said my piece, there is a cocktail with your name on it in the works, and considering its fall it quite possibly will feature bourbon. :P

  5. October 27, 2009 8:43 am

    ooh, my ocd would never have thought to mash them together – it sounds like a lovely evening.

    and, goodness, you really know how to charm a girl! ;)

  6. October 28, 2009 11:11 pm

    So glad you have that song on repeat. It’s truly one of my current favorites. And the entire album is just … sigh.

    I can’t wait for the next installment of Femme Guide to Butch Drinks. That is one of my favorite features on your blog.

    And all this femme theory I’ve been reading lately makes me want to explore butch theory even more, just as a complement, you know? I feel a little over my head with it, though. There are some very smart discussions going on right now, and well. I just posted about Halloween costumes, so.

    I love your posts, even if it takes me a minute to catch up and comment on them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

