Skip to content

“move over nice dog, ’cause the mad dog’s movin’ in”

September 14, 2009

*Not actual image of Jamie or Puppy. Approximately to scale.

That’s right. We’ve had her for about two weeks now. Jamie is in love. I kind of vacillate. She is adorable and smart and weird-looking. She is also, apparently, incapable of taking a shit in the rain. I hate it. The housetraining was going well. There were mistakes, of course, but that is to be expected. It’s been raining for two days now, and, despite spending a major portion of my weekend standing in the rain with her, she refuses to shit outside. Sometimes it infuriates me that you can’t reason with a puppy (you’ve been in the rain for 20 minutes now! if you would just go – like you were clearly about to inside – we could have had this whole getting wet thing over with in 90 seconds!).

But this wasn’t going to be a post about her issues. Or my issues. Or Dog’s issues. Suffice it to say that me and Dog have issues, and he kind of hates her, and it makes me kind of depressed.

What this was really about was – Puppy! Cute! Bundle! Toe-Biting Beast! She’s houndy and merley and heterochromatic. She knows “come” and “sit” – and at only 11 weeks. That’s right, my puppy is smarter than your baby.

Lady Brett

"Move It On Over" - Hank Williams
5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 12:14 pm

    Congratulations!!! I think. Good luck!! Yeah, that works too. :)

  2. September 15, 2009 2:35 pm

    thanks! yes, both of those work =)

  3. September 16, 2009 9:27 pm

    Puppies are seriously like babies. So. I hope you’re getting enough sleep, and I hope everyone in the household is settling into the new routine. But the cuteness can make up for some shortcomings, for sure.

    Oh, and my goddog? Still won’t go in the rain. She’s litter box-trained. I KNOW.

  4. Jamie permalink
    September 18, 2009 1:48 am

    More accurate picture of small dog coming soon!

  5. September 20, 2009 10:12 am

    Hey lovely, you’ve been tagged!

Leave a Reply

