Skip to content

Femme Guide to Butch Drinks. Part 4.

September 7, 2009

Summertime

Well, summer’s getting towards over, so this may be less than timely. It comes of experimenting a bit, so i don’t suppose i would have had much to say on the subject before summer.

Summer calls for cold drinks. To me, summer means fresh fruit and mint and fizz. And i have found myself drinking quite a bit of gin. Rum, also. Of course, sometimes i can’t pass on bourbon, but i don’t find it very seasonal.

The gin is interesting, though, due to i thought i couldn’t stand gin. I’ve gained quite an affinity for it, though. Tastes change. Also, the second time i ever had gin i thought it was water, and was in a stifling second deck of a London bus. That might have damped my opinion of it a bit. Anyhow, i won’t devote a post to types of gin, as my experience is limited.

A brief run of what i have tried:

Bombay Saphire – The Best. So they say, and i am inclined to agree. Only, i don’t feel i have quite the authority for it. I have some Hendricks as well. It is really quite something. It is a bit mild, and if you aren’t carful the flavor is entirely overwhelmed. I also got some New Amsterdam, which is probably worth about what you pay for it, but i don’t think that is quite good enough. I find it a bit like someone poured gin in a half-bottle of vodka (heavy on the rubbing alcohol scent).

The most summer of summer drinks, in my mind, are fizzy – be that a cooler, a collins or, in fact, a fizz. I adore carbonation, and i never adore it more than in summer.

the proper g & t glass.

a proper g & t glass. tall.

So, i must lead off with my First Place Summer Drink: Gin and Tonic. When i’m feeling lazy (and it is summer), it’s just that: gin and tonic, and plenty of ice. I prefer lime to lemon for flavor, but it is often a matter of what is on hand. I often prefer a good-sized twist to the juice, as well – a bit more bitter, yum! Do note that you need a really fresh fruit for a twist to be worthwhile – it has to have oils. Also, the hype is true – if you use Hendricks in your G & T, a cucumber slice makes the perfect garnish.

In the past, my go-to summer drinks have been the mojito and margarita (rocks, please). I haven’t made a homemade margarita at all this summer! Consequently, i haven’t had any notably good ones, nor have i perfected a recipe to share. As for mojitos, i was so taken with a recipe Grrlchef shared over at Sublimefemme’s, that i haven’t experimented much at all.

Grrlchef Mojito:

2 parts Sake (Or Rum, or Pisco)
1 part Fizz, tonics my choice
1/2 part yuzu juice (or meyer lemon simple syrup)
1 sugar cube (omit if using that syrup)
2 Thai Basil Leaves
1 Mint Leaf

I think you know what to do with these ingredients, or just invite me over and I’ll make it for you ;p

I do, but i would gladly take her up on the offer anyhow. I must admit that i never managed to have all of the exact ingredients in one place, so everything i drank was a variation (and all with rum, due to liquor cabinet constraints). I think this is the best option for a sweltering summer day. Oddly, we didn’t have many of those this year, so i drank it perhaps a bit less than expected.

Summer evenings cool off a bit, though, which lends itself to a nice cocktail. I have become fond of variations on the martini (gin, please).

My favorite, thanks to Crosby Gaige, is the Bronx:

1/2 part Dry Gin [1 oz]
1/4 part Dry Vermouth [1/2 oz]
1/4 part Sweet Vermouth [1/2 oz]
Juice of 1/2 an Orange [small juicer orange]

Shake well with cracked ice and strain into cocktail glass.

I find the proportions i added in fit prettily (i.e. nearly overflow) in my 3 oz cocktail glasses. I am fond of small drinks of the sort – larger seems to terribly modern, along with which they tend to warm, and you don’t get to try as many different things! I also quite like this one with grapefruit, for a less sweet drink. Or without juice at all, in which case it is a Trinity Martini.

I am absolutely certain there are a million other excellent summer drinks (never minding beer, omitted because it quite deserves its own post).

What’s your favorite?

Lady Brett

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 12:13 pm

    Mmm, I love gin. Gin and Tonics were my first introduction to real cocktails and I still find that one of the best experiences life has to offer is a very hot bath and a very cold gin an tonic. My current gin of choice is Cascade Mountain Gin, which is distilled in Oregon of all places.
    As for my favorite summer drink, currently that is a Mamie Taylor, 1 1/2 oz bourbon, juice of a lime, built on ice and filled with strong ginger ale (Reed’s Jamaican by preference).

  2. September 8, 2009 12:34 pm

    out of curiosity, what makes these drinks “butch”? :)

    love gin and mojitos, too, mojitos have pretty much been my go-t0 drink this summer. i love the fruity variations – my favorite is a raspberry mojito made with bacardi razz and crushed fresh raspberries along with the regular ingredients. so goooood.

  3. September 8, 2009 1:18 pm

    sabayon – the maymie taylor sounds quite nice.

    wilhelmina, the “butch” label on the drinks is kind of a joke. it made more sense in the first couple installations in the series, which were about whiskey. i find it really funny how much drinks – alcohol particularly – are tought of as gendered. as, until recently, i drank primarily whiskey and beer (and not the “light” crap) – still among my favorites – i though i’d run with it =)

    oh, and fresh raspberries are possibly my favorite of fruits. yum! shame they’re so hard to come by (hereabouts, at least).

  4. Vintage Femme permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:40 pm

    I adore gin -especially a dirty martini (extra dry and extra dirty obviously!)

    Though for a summer sweet-sour refresher it has to be a good Brazilian caipirinha

  5. September 8, 2009 2:51 pm

    oh, vintage femme, i [i]adore[/i] a dirty martini (though not dry – i am of the snobbish camp that it’s not a martini if it ain’t got vermouth ;) !

  6. Vintage Femme permalink
    September 8, 2009 2:54 pm

    I love my drinks dry, even wine has to be dry… gives me a good excuse to drink champagne though! :)

  7. grrlchef13 permalink
    September 8, 2009 10:50 pm

    My my my….(blush). You should try an old cuban. You would love it.

    6 mint leaves
    1 oz simple syrup (muddled of course)
    3/4 oz fresh lime juice
    1 1/2 oz Gold Rum
    1 dash of Orange Bitters
    (shake it til your hand freezes)
    pour into a coupe and top with
    2 oz. semi dry Cava (like Juve y Camps NV)
    You could do that crazy stuff with the eggwhites everyone here in the NW is doing but why mess up your fancy cocktail with that?

    Muah

  8. September 9, 2009 4:14 pm

    I had a bad gin experience in college and have never warmed up to it again, I’m sad to say. This summer I had the best mojito ever in Miami. It was so good it nearly killed me, I swear.
    Well, it was also large enough to swim in and of course I drank it all!

    Lately I’ve been drinking mostly wine but for spirits/cocktails it’s been tequila (straight), vodka gimlets, vodka tonics, and the occasional Old-Fashioned for my bourbon fix. I love a good classic margarita but almost never order them out because they’re usually awful. I’m looking forward to returning to Manhattans now that fall has arrived!

    @grrlchef I think you succeeded in seducing the lovely Lady B!

    xo
    SF

    • grrlchef13 permalink
      September 9, 2009 4:46 pm

      Tequila is a whole nother conversation, I am a tequila girl. A good cadillac margarita with premium blanco tequila is well worth the effort. My favorite new old fashioned is at a gastropub called spur and features peach bitters and (my favorite) Buffalo Trace. Delish. When did we stop drinking around here?

  9. September 12, 2009 12:13 am

    Hello, there! SF sent me here and I’m delighted, as I love not just cocktails, but butch and femme cocktails and everything in between and then some. Also, gin. Have you tried the classic Negroni with some of that Hendrick’s? I recommend it!

  10. September 14, 2009 10:01 am

    stop drinking? surely not! the old cuban sounds lovely (time for a bit of a bar restock, it seems)

    ffaf – excellent – a femme after my own heart! the bar stocking goes for the negroni as well – i have yet to try or buy campari, but i promise i’ll get there someday.

    sublimefemme – what a shame! fortunately for me, none of my bad drinking experiences were the fault of any particular beverage. or, those that were were the fault of the quality of beverage, which has fortunately been generally rectified. i’m sure i have never been so surprised as the first time i had patron, having been previously convinced that it was an inherent quality of tequila to be hideous. as it happens, that is only a necessary quality of the crap tequila i had in college. i couldn’t agree more about margaritas (or manhattans, of course)!

  11. September 15, 2009 11:02 pm

    I’m always a fan of vodka tonics, although I’ve been turned on to the Brazilian caipirinha that Vintage Femme mentioned. A restaurant here has a guava mojito that is perfectly refreshing, especially when sitting out on their patio in the early evening. But now that it’s starting to cool down, it’s about time for me to turn some of my attention back to whiskey …

Leave a Reply

