Skip to content

“we’re the only ones to turn to when your castles turn to sand”

August 4, 2009

Jamie’s gone on vacation for the week. I have been left with instructions to make sure i feed me at least occasionally. Apparently she is aware of my bachelor tendencies.

She’s gone with her best friend, and, when the opportunity came up, i was a bit sad that i couldn’t go (as i’m already taking next week off, and other scheduling conflicts). I have realized since then that the vacation will involve the constant company of two children, crowds, roller coasters, heat, sun, spending money i don’t have and eating out for a week. So, while it is fun to tell people that she’s going on vacation without me (woe!), i am thrilled to be staying home. I am a bit jealous of the water part, though. And, you know, going to miss her. I’m not used to being by myself. (Along with which this will add up to two weeks without any privacy.)

My vacation is next week. It involves not going to work and not going elsewhere. Lovely! Also, my dad is coming to stay for the week. We’re going to look into the (growing, ugh!) soft spots in the kitchen floor. Other possibilities – depending on how time consuming that turns out to be – include putting a fan on the back porch, patching the living room sheetrock, fixing the parquet in the den, planning out the front porch and getting as many questions in as i can manage about everything else.

In preparation, i’ve rearranged most of the furniture, which means that (disregarding the laundry and the kitchen’s desperate need for cleaning) we have all of our disaster relegated to one room. And it’s organized disaster: shit that we still need to go through in one (large) corner, shit we’re getting rid of in a (growing, thank god!) corner – oh, and the guest bed squeezed in the middle. Oh well.

Anyhow, this is my very favorite part of the house: the office. It’s so beautifully vintage(esque). It also means i can work from home!

office

Don't be fooled, of course - it's only clean because the photo is from the day we set it up.

The left is mine (with the beer pen holder and the drink. hi.). We got the desk from Jamie’s folks (and her granddad made the chair, how cool is that?). It was in a bit of disrepair in their garage, but a bit of glue and a few screws later it’s sturdy again. I rather like my writing nook, so i didn’t bother to try to fix the top drawer. Though, on second thought, perhaps i ought to make a faux drawer, just to cover it…hmm. Anyhow, hers is on the right, via craigslist, we just couldn’t pass it the inexact matchy-matchyness.

Lady Brett

"Comfort Eagle" - Cake
5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2009 3:16 pm

    a handifemme on vacation! sounds like fun. i’d be interested in reading about the projects, if you feel like it.

  2. August 11, 2009 3:57 pm

    I just finished restoring a similar desk chair. I love the wood and the old intricacies in how thoughtfully things were made.

  3. August 18, 2009 10:55 am

    You and your dad are too adorable! Hope you enjoyed your staycation!

    xo
    SF

  4. August 30, 2009 3:55 pm

    Hey, my desk is kind of similar to these! I love your office … although I’d never get any work done, as I’d always be staring out the windows and daydreaming.

  5. August 31, 2009 7:46 pm

    g – that is definitely a problem. someone suggested that if we switched the desks then they would both have a window. it would be nice, and a bit prettier, but it is probably good for me to have a wall in front of my face when i’m supposed to be working =)

Leave a Reply

