Skip to content

“if it’s love you can work it out, that’s the cruelest lie”

May 5, 2009

This is on its way to my house as we “speak”:

Oh, it’s so pretty. And y’know, useful and stuff.

But seriously, it will be amazing to have a computer that works again. Not to knock my current computer; i’m quite fond of it, but he’s like 6 years old now and can only do one. thing. at. a. time. I’m, most of all, looking forward to the ability to work from home, which i have discovered always makes me like my job more – and i almost always get a lot more done, as well. I think it’s directly related to being able to take small breaks that are really breaks. Doing laundry, playing with the dogs, cooking lunch – not checking email, reading webcomics or news (ahem, blogging) , which, while not my work, is still staring atthe damn computer, and so doesn’t help me recharge at all.

But, yes, all i really meant to say was that i’m super excited. (And, in case you were worried about him, the old boy is going to be strictly my jukebox now. It’ll be a good and highly valued retirement.)

Lady Brett

"Rope Swings And Avalanches" - Catie Curtis
PS. Last night, for the first time since the new house, i just sat on my ass.
I've been feeling sickish - mostly just tired - and i just made dinner and a
drink and watched Firefly 'till bedtime. Huh.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 8:30 am

    pretty sure that is the exact same computer I just bought! and likewise, I’ve been computerless at home for the past few months, and man, it is SUCH a relief to have one that works. hope you love it!

  2. whatilike permalink
    May 6, 2009 6:26 pm

    I want a mac book! They’re just so cool, even though I’m nervous having never really used mac (always windows).

  3. May 8, 2009 11:39 am

    i do love it (already)! it’s unbelievable how light it is – and how easy the screen is to read (i’m used to my old laptop – and to getting monitor-induced headaches regularly at work).

    whatilike – i’m not sure i’m the best source for this, as i’ve always been a mac girl, but they really are amazingly user-friendly. i mean, there’s going to be a learning curve for getting used to anything new, but it’s really cool all the things even a luddite like me can do on a mac ;) (honestly, the hardest part of switching from one to the other – work and home – all the time is that the close/minimize buttons are in opposite places=)

Leave a Reply

