Skip to content

“but the lord and i don’t get along so very good”

April 15, 2009

I miss Passover.

Mind, i’m not Jewish. I’m not, in fact, much of anything on that count, but what i meant was that i was raised kind of Christian. I studied my religion fairly seriously when i was younger, and i’ve always liked the tradition part. The religious and spiritual bit was a bit difficult for me, but i loved the high churchiness of it; the same thing every week part, the “i can still recite those words even though i haven’t been to church in six years” part is comforting to me.

Anyhow, i was also fairly immersed in Judaism growing up. (I suppose it’s a location thing – i don’t think they have Judaism where i live now.) Every year we would go to my mom’s friend’s (family friends, i suppose) for the Seder – as well as for the first night of Hannukah, but the Seder is the one that i remember more clearly.

I suppose, accurately, i miss the Passover Seder, as i never really observed all of Passover.

I did make Charoset (sp?) for Thanksgiving a few years ago. It was kind of my (our) own private joke to take it to Jake’s conservative family Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it – i think i called it apple salad or something lame like that when they asked about it.

Lady Brett

"Monday Afternoon" - Lori McKenna
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 8:16 pm

    No Jewish people at all? Really? There has got to be a sedar you can go to! I share your affection for Passover. I love that it’s all about liberation and freedom. And that story about the charoset is pretty funny, although it makes me kinda nervous about Jake’s family.

    xo
    SF

  2. April 17, 2009 8:48 pm

    i’m sure that i’m lying about that, but it’s far less metropolitan and far more bible-belt than my previous home. and nearly all of the people know *well* now are of the distinctly non-religious sort.

    yes, well, jake’s family made me a bit nervous too, though again i am probably overstating things =)

Leave a Reply

