Skip to content

“I just adore his asking for more”

January 8, 2009

I’ve been remiss. Eartha Kitt died on Christmas Day.

I saw her obit on the front page of the New York Times online. I pulled the page up while sitting in the living room with Jamie and her roommate. Naturally, i gasped, “ohmigod, Eartha Kitt died!” To which they both responded, “huh?”

Sigh.

I think i said “Catwoman!” That was, after all, my first exposure to Kitt – she played Catwoman for a season of the 60s Batman series.

More recently, thanks to the Oxford American Music Issue (with free CD), i discovered her as a (damn amazing) vocalist. I’d heard her before, as i’m sure you have, as the singer of “Santa Baby.” I can’t say i’m especially familiar with her work, but i’m quoting my favorite so far.

Lady Brett

"My Heart Belongs to Daddy" - Eartha Kitt, R.I.P.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2009 12:43 pm

    I remember her from the movie, Boomerang. It’s also going back quite a bit but not as far back as Catwoman. She was great in that movie, all purring and seducing Eddie Murphy. She was great.

  2. January 12, 2009 9:20 am

    Thanks for this tribute. Eartha Kitt was legendary. And, as you know from reading about her life story in the NYT, truly an amazing woman.

    xo
    SF

Leave a Reply

