Skip to content

“i’d bury my three wishes deep down in the ground”

January 5, 2009

Points of interest from the holiday, in no particular order:

Postsecret, not mine. But it made me smile when i was feeling down, and i showed it to Jamie because it’s exactly the sort of thing i’m terrible at vocalizing.

2009

My family came in town, and they came to see our drag show! The family and i played dominoes up until the show started. My mom was grinning ear to ear through the whole show, which was awesome. My brother managed to find the straight girl at the club and get her way interested in him (despite a first impression that he was gay). Walking home: “Huh, i’ve never turned down a chance to get laid before.” He’s so cute.

I bought myself sexy shoes! I’ve never owned sexy shoes before; it’s very exciting, and a bit intimidating. I didn’t really mean to buy them, but they caught my eye – all masculine-feminine and yummy. Except i’ve never had the guts to wear sexy shoes. A minor consideration once my girlfriend said they make her want to throw me down on the display table. Yes ma’am.

I’d like to put it out there: it makes me sick when people are unnecessarily mean. It also makes me a little sick that i don’t have the balls to say that to them.

While i’m at it, i’d like to thank Levi’s for making 529s. If you have an ass, go get a pair. I never thought i’d know the luxury of pants sans belt. You know, that gap-at-the-back thing all pants do if your ass is any bigger than your waist? Well, they don’t. It has made my life better in a small, constant way. So, thanks Levi’s (and perhaps the “apple-bottom jeans” thing) for “curvy” jeans.

Lady Brett

"Upside Down" - Barenaked Ladies
4 Comments leave one →
  1. huckleberry of finns permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:48 am

    Hey there, a long time lurker here saying Happy New Year to the Lady Brett. Thought I owed it to you ;) I’m a wee baby dyke whose just peering out the closet, and reading about your great relationship is exactly what I need. Also, your family is just great. I always thought a girl needs a brother, I tried to convince my then-closer-to-fifty-than-forty mother to have a final go at it when I was four years old. Alas, no brother for this little tomboy.

  2. January 6, 2009 8:26 am

    First — I smiled when I first saw that postcard too! :)

    Very sweet!

    Oh and I LOVE the shoes… very cute!

    529s huh… duly noted! :)

  3. January 7, 2009 4:13 pm

    how exciting! who knew i had a lurker? ;)
    welcome, dear, glad you decided to come out (so to speak).
    p.s. your name is great

  4. January 7, 2009 6:21 pm

    Awww…That postcard is so sweet.

    Silly girl, I’m sure you have oodles of lurkers! Huckleberry clearly has good taste.

    Love the oxfords!

    xo
    SF

Leave a Reply

