Skip to content

“i’ve been waitin’ on a cold front”

January 2, 2009

Happy New Year, kids.

So, new year’s eve has always been a decent excuse for a party. Though, in reality there’s always so much hype around it i find i seldom enjoy new year parties as much as no-reason parties. It’s a matter of disappointment. It’s one of the reasons i hate plans. If there are no plans, then nothing can go wrong. If there is no plan and everything goes “badly” i’m the one saying, “yeah, but it’s cool, ’cause we’ll just make the best of it and have a damn good time anyway.” And i do. When things don’t go according to plan, even if the result is okay, it stresses me out and disappoints me and makes me a little bit miserable.

</utterly beside the point>

I like the celebration, but i’ve never been clear on the reason for celebrating. If i were more spiritual i could get into the year-cycle thing, but i’d be more inclined to celebrate the solstices. In the typical western sense it holds a concreteness that’s a bit foreign to me. End. Beginning. Successes. Failures. Resolutions.

In lieu of recapping the year, i’ll just say that i’m a happy girl.

In lieu of resolutions – my feelings on goals being similar to those on plans, with the addition of: “how come you don’t care where you’re going?” “because how you get there is the worthier part.” In lieu of resolutions, a daydream:

In which i have bought a house. Or perhaps we have bought a house – rather more intimidating, but also more feasible. I will cook dinner nearly every night. Though we won’t always get to sit down to dinner, i can pack it up for her to have at work. I’ll spend the evening puttering around the house. Or, when she’s off, reading with my head in her lap. I’ll work from home, in my pajamas, while she sleeps – perhaps a day or three a week. On the weekends i’ll work on adding a porch, set up the garage, work on my sewing.

So, Happy New Year y’all!

Lady Brett
“Meat Off The Bone” – The Gourds

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 5:47 pm

    Until you realize your dream, feel free to come over to my house anytime to cook or do home improvements. Hell, just sewing on a button is a big deal to me!

    FYI I believe the word on the street is that 2009 will be a buyer’s market ;-)

    xo
    SF

  2. January 5, 2009 1:00 pm

    I’m a happy girl too, it’s a wonderful thing. :)

    Happy New Year to you and I hope that Sublimefemme is correct b/c I believe I’ll be condo hunting with the gf in 2009. It is scary, absolutely, but it will be so rewarding. I miss owning my own home very much.

  3. January 5, 2009 5:44 pm

    It’s great that yo’re a happy girl!

    BB

    X

Leave a Reply

