Skip to content

“and then she leans over and lifts off your glasses”

December 25, 2008

Happy Christmas (etc.) y’all.

I’m feeling the warm fuzzies in a different way than typical christmas. But, then, it’s not really typical christmas.

Thank you to my butch role models. I’ve tried six times to write an explanation of that, but i suppose i will have to let it speak for itself. Perhaps i can add something vague about being accepting, and not overly dismissive of my being straight back when. You can say “i told you so” if you want, though.

I’m crazy about my girl. Or maybe i’m pretty sane about her, and that’s the crazy thing. I think it is the fact that i can tell her things i can barely tell myself that makes it seem somehow more right than anything else. And she does lean over and lift off my glasses. It’s either because i’m crying or to get them out of the way – they’re a bit dangerous if you get too close. There is the same sweetness in both cases.

While i’m on the subject of folks i love, for all their faults i love my Kings. I’ve never been very clear on what a best friend is, and perhaps its because it’s different every time, but i think they’re mine right now.

And it’s odd to think that this and the bloggers i read have reached a point that everything would be completely different without them. And, since everything is good, i’ve got you to thank. Thanks.

Lady Brett

“Burning Bridges” – Chris Pureka

p.s. apologies for the mushiness. you can blame facebook. or the tequila sunrises. or fantastic music. lack of sleep. not that it’s not all true.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 27, 2008 10:11 pm

    ah, love :)

    it takes one who is in love to know one.

    happy holidays!

  2. December 31, 2008 6:21 pm

    Happy new year, sweetie!

    xo
    SF

  3. January 11, 2009 10:42 pm

    I love that song!That exact line actually- followed by “a head full of liquor and perfume”. I listen to it just to get to those two lines and I don’t even have glasses and am not actually a big fan of perfume. Your blog, along side Sinclair’s of course, is my little cyber home of a very particular connection, so you know -this being said after only one beer.

  4. January 26, 2009 5:18 pm

    oh my, i’m kind of bad about confusing things i intended to do with things i have done…like respond to this. it is sometimes funny how one particular line can weigh so much in a song. and thank you for saying such sweet things – and after only one beer =)

Leave a Reply

