Skip to content

“gaining rudimentary navigational skills”

December 16, 2008

Last night my baby said, “You know, i’ve never seen you without your lip ring. It’s gonna be strange when i do.” Since i got it about three years ago, it has come out three times. Once for work, twice for Christmas at my grandparents’.

(My mom hates my lip ring. She didn’t bat an eye when i came out. Or the first time she saw me really drunk. Other than wanting me to live closer, she didn’t say anything when i moved in with my girlfriend in a different state. But she hates my lip ring. So i do take it off around the extended family.)

Well, as it turns out, i am no longer wearing my lip ring. It’s rather iced over here. I am not used to ice, it doesn’t get that cold where i’m from, and it’s only kind of a once a year thing here. So, on my way to work this morning, i did a full faceplant. I couldn’t find my gloves, so my hands were in my pockets. Face, Sidewalk. Sidewalk, Face. My first thought was along the lines of “huh. i’ve never done that before.” Also included were “Ow!” “I am a moron” and “Fuck! My teeth!”

I’m fine. I checked my nose first, and it’s fine. My teeth are fine, which is good ’cause i think the front two actually made contact with the sidewalk. The bill of my cabbie hat is a little crunched, which is probably why my glasses are not. Then i checked my lower lip, and discovered that my ring had been thoroughly clamped onto it. It took some serious wrangling to get the thing off of there, and it made a little bit of a new hole. It feels fine now – it hurt like hell at the time – mostly i forget how strange it feels without it.

I’ll have to go show Jamie, of course. Then i’m going to get a new ring before this thing heals up.

Lady Brett
“Very Friendly Lighthouses” – Vic Chesnutt

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2008 2:49 pm

    Oh no! I’m so glad that you’re ok.

  2. December 16, 2008 7:15 pm

    Oh, no! I’m so glad that you didn’t hurt your teeth!

  3. December 19, 2008 5:09 pm

    Ouch! Sorry to hear about the piercing casualty.

    I didn’t know polar bears could fall!

Leave a Reply

