Skip to content

“they don’t care who you are and they don’t ask what you’ve done”

November 12, 2008

I was walking home yesterday, when one of the three guys walking my way hollered across the street to a man i had just passed, “Hey man, she’s spoken for.”

He repeated, “She’s spoken for,” and the third guy threw in, “and with a girl, too!”

The first guy’s tone said, “dude, just lay off, it ain’t no use.” The third repeated himself, too, but more as to say, “ain’t that the damnedest thing you ever heard?”

All i’m saying is, my neighbors are cool. My neighbors are mostly homeless; they hang outside of the place nextdoor, and i walk by to and from work about every day. We say hi, sometimes they ask me how my “ladyfriend” is. There’s the occasional jackass (’cause every group has one of those), but most of the guys are funny and nice and they make my neighborhood feel safe.

Lady Brett
“Christmas In Paradise” – Mary Gauthier

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 7:37 am

    That is indeed very cool. :)

  2. November 30, 2008 1:32 pm

    That makes me all warm and fuzzy :)

Leave a Reply

