Skip to content

“round and around just like a top”

October 16, 2008

It was her idea, and she drove, and we both paid, but apparently i took Jamie to the fair. I think because she was so excited about it, and i was the only person who would go with her.

Most fun you can have with your clothes on. Euphamistically, 'cause...

.

.

It was a lot more fun than i expected. I mean, i wasn’t opposed to the idea. But fried food (this year they have one-upped the fried coke with chocolate-dipped bacon) crowds and carnival rides all kind of scare me, so it didn’t seem like the best way to spend my time and money. I was lured by the prospect of big carnival swings. I have memories of them being the most fun ever. Of course, i was concerned that this was either hyperbole, or that i had gotten to be a big wimp in my old age, and would find them scary, too.

.

.

Thank god she never agreed.

I was bullied* onto a few rides: i’m still scared of ferris wheels, and, actually, of anything that goes up and down. Slides rock my socks. And the big carnival swings are still the most fun ever. Omigod. Like, make me bounce up and down like a four year old fun. Like, face hurts from grinning fun.

The carnival games were also fun. Not that we played any of them. I just got a kick out of pointing out the most hideously ridiculous prizes and asking Jamie if she would win them for me.

* “But ferris wheels are scary. What if i hit my head on the sky?”
“Oh, honey. It’ll be okay. Come on!”
“…okay.”

Lady Brett
“Honky Tonk Marry Go Round” – Patsy Cline

3 Comments leave one →
  1. miss avarice permalink
    October 16, 2008 12:21 pm

    My family and I are famous for hating fairs and theme parks. I think the only one we really enjoyed was epcot center. We hate rides that cause motion sickness and we spend our time at theme parks on the slowest, most relaxing ride: the lazy river, the train that goes around the zoo so you don’t have to walk etc. One year we even went to the strawberry festival (which is actually like the fair, but it centers around strawberries which is our main local produce). At the end of the day we all swore we would never go back!

  2. October 16, 2008 2:47 pm

    oh yeah, the big swings are so awesome. i find ferris wheels terribly romantic. so many memories… my first pseudogirlfriend (or my pseudo first girlfriend? i didn’t have a string of them or anything) clinging to my arm on one & me praying she’d never let go… then fg doing the same thing a few years later, feigning fear as part of a design to get to cuddle with in public in front of her family… oh, ferris wheels. glad you had fun but i really hope you stayed away from the chocolate bacon, that sounds vile.

  3. October 16, 2008 5:34 pm

    I’m famous for going on anything- the bigger and scarier the better!! But as I’m getting older the bigger and scarier they seem to be becomming!

    BB

    X

Leave a Reply

