Skip to content

It’s the economy, stupid

September 30, 2008

I understand money pretty well; i don’t spend on credit, i save a little, i budget when i need to – though maybe i should always. I understand economics pretty well; i aced macro and micro without, really, a lot of effort because they read like funfun logic games. But, honestly, i do not understand the economy at all. I’ve always been a bit embarrassed about that – it seems like a notable failure for someone who considers herself both rather smart and politically aware.

But now that’s changed. I still don’t understand the economy, but i am beginning to think that is partly because no one understands the economy. And i am perhaps less embarrassed for that. I wish i weren’t, because now i’m a bit terrified instead.

This crisis has made obvious one other (less melodramatic, more certain) thing. Which is that the Republican party is not only the party of religious fundamentalism. It is the party of fundamentalism on all counts. By which i mean belief over reality. Like the belief in the “free market” over the fact that deregulation got us into this mess and interference is the only way to even possibly clean it up. Not that this is anything new (torture, war, education, econ again, etc., etc.). Frankly (as much as i don’t really like being hated) i wouldn’t mind religious fundamentalism if it weren’t so inextricably linked to political fundamentalism.

So, the political implications from someone smarter and funnier than me: (yes, i finally gave in to the big gay crush – despite my antipathy for television news – and am forced to admit that it’s totally warranted =)

Lady Brett
(Bill Clinton’s ’92 campaign)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 9:10 pm

    maddow is so articulate and well-spoken, I totally want her to be at my dinner parties. not that I have dinner parties. but hey, maybe after more of your food-fridays, I will :)

  2. Gina permalink
    October 1, 2008 12:38 am

    I met her once, pre-MSNBC. She is just as intelligent and articulate in real life as she is on TV. And so butchy and adorable! Seriously, though, I have a huge crush on her brain. Seeing her dressed for television is always a bit jarring.

  3. October 1, 2008 12:47 pm

    I have talked about her with a lot of people of different sexes and orientations (though, not, to be sure, a wide range of political affiliations). It appears that *everyone* has a crush on her. Including, obviously, me.

Leave a Reply

