Skip to content

“what’s your name, little girl, what’s your name”

September 8, 2008

Leo got me thinking about names with this post, as well as a meme and some questions.

One question: So… do you identify with your name?

I love my name. The whole thing. My name is, more or less, Butch Femme Adjective. I think my folks were quite savvy with middle names. My brother has a somewhat unusual first name and a very common middle name (so as to have options). I have a (basically) boys first name and a very feminine middle name. I love my middle name for being everything my first name isn’t. People often ask if i changed my last name; i usually say, “nah, i got it from my dad.” But it really is cool.

I like having an uncommon name. With the exception of difficulty introducing myself on a dance floor, it simplifies things. Having a masculine name is interesting to me – it means i am always assumed male over email and often over the phone; if people are sure i sound like a girl on the phone they almost always mishear my name as the nearest common female name to it (which i don’t think sounds very similar at all, but it’s almost always the same one); i get IDed to use my debit card unusually often (you can tell when it’s because of the name – the cashier does a double-take, or squints at it a little); introductions typically include repetition (i.e. “i must have misheard that, ’cause you’re clearly a girl”) or, “is that short for something?” (i can’t for the life of me imagine what it would be short for). Plus, it allowed me to “pass” as a little boy for years (at the time i didn’t admit to my middle name).

So, i’d like to thank Dad for vetoing any girl names ending in -y or -ie, Mom for giving me options (i’m sure the good use of middle names was her idea, as she goes by her middle name exclusively), and both for using names inspired by my grandparents’ names rather than naming me after them.

I’ve never had any nicknames that lasted. I attribute it largely to my name not being so common as to require differentiation from others with the same one. My friends do often lengthen my name with any suffix amusing to them (Name-tholomew was always my favorite, but also Name-icus, Name-ski, Name-o, etc.)

There’s also drag. My king name is more andro than my real name. (I have such a thing for andro names – especially of the gendered full name, androgynous shortened name variety.)

The Meme (excluding things that hinge on my real name or favorites i don’t have =)

Rock star name (first pet, current car):
Reepicheep (the one-name thing is pretty rock star, but i’m not sure furry-christian-allegory is a very hopping music genre.)

Gangsta name (favorite ice cream flavor, favorite type of shoe):
Cherry (Garcia) Chucks (umm…)

Native American name (favorite color, favorite animal):
Cornflower Chipmunk

Superhero name (2nd favorite color, favorite drink):
Burgundy Bourbon (wow, sounds like a winner. but i really want to know what my superpower is!)

NASCAR name (the first names of your grandfathers):
Jack “Buzz” Puny (yeah, i have three grandfathers. yeah, two of those are nicknames.)

TV weather anchor name (your 5th grade teacher’s last name, a major city that starts with the same letter): Nelson Newport

Spy name (your favorite season/holiday, flower):
Poppy Autumn (i took the liberty of rearranging to reduce triteness. Leo’s right, the hopes of getting something appropriately dark and edgy from holidays and flowers is slim. This is more James Bond lady-villain spy name.)

Cartoon name:(favorite fruit, article of clothing you’re wearing right now):
Nectarine Kneesocks (Jake always says i’m a cartoon character.)

Hippie name (what you ate for breakfast, your favorite tree):
Muffin Magnolia (my college buddies might say that any name’s a hippie name on me.)

Movie star name (first pet, first street where you lived):
Reepicheep Rockwood (wow, poor kid)

…apologies for the excessive alliteration. I swear it was five parts fluke and one part required…and one part purposeful pseudo-alliteration. For shame. (but, seriously, she’d be adorable!)

Nectarine Kneesocks
“What’s Your Name” – Lynyrd Skynyrd

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2008 7:53 pm

    You’re a bourbon drinker!! Femme bourbon drinkers unite!

    If you saw my comment on Leo’s post you’ll see that my superhero name is Lavendar Manhattan. I also have been known to drink Maker’s Mark on the rocks once or twice ;-)

  2. September 9, 2008 4:01 pm

    my, my, we would make quite the superfriends! i want to know more =)

  3. September 9, 2008 5:16 pm

    Just imagine me as a leggy Catwoman plotting world domination and sipping “perfect” Manhattans with bourbon-spiked maraschino cherries.

    OMG I’m so in love with that description of me I have to put it up on my blog!

    So, what’s your favorite bourbon?

  4. September 10, 2008 9:11 am

    haha, i love the description!

    well, i usually drink beam, but that’s just ’cause it all tastes about the same with coke ;)

    my favorite is probably knob creek (or bushmills, which isn’t bourbon, and so doesn’t answer your question)

  5. September 10, 2008 11:52 am

    I’m not a bit surprised that you have such excellent taste. I agree; Knob Creek is…sublime!!

    And have you visited my blog lately to see what I did with the Catwoman thing?

  6. September 11, 2008 9:11 am

    thanks for playing the silly name meme! i think cherry chucks is the perfect femme nickname. and wow, you have much cooler favorite colors than i do. cornflower and burgundy sound so much better than blue and red. props to your parents for their foresight and thoughtfulness in naming you. everyone should take a page from their book.

Leave a Reply

