Skip to content

“i like cream in my coffee; i like to sleep late on sundays”

September 2, 2008

I am not a morning person. This morning, particularly.

I was somehow dressed and in the car (don’t fear; not driving) going to nab breakfast (read: Coffee!) before work, and trying, though i was incoherent and having difficulty forming full sentences, to apologize for my grumpiness, as so:

“sorry…i, just…mornings are mean to me. and they make me sad.”

“Do you want me to beat them up for you? I will.”
She makes me smile and i love her. Also, she puts up with me in the morning.

Clarification: I am not necessarily “not a morning person.” I am just a 9 or 10 hours of sleep person. That is untenable most work nights, so i awaken unrested and bitchy. (My sweet girl has on multiple occasions protested that i am not “bitchy,” but “grumpy.” She also uses the word “cute” in these discussions, so her opinion can, clearly, not be trusted.)

Lady Brett
“Nobody Knows Me” – Lyle Lovett

3 Comments leave one →
  1. linaria permalink
    September 2, 2008 12:30 pm

    I have been known to do such things as:

    -put the milk in the cabinet
    -turn on the wrong burner when making tea
    -put my keys in the refrigerator
    -yell repeatedly at the alarm clock trying to get it to shut off
    -leave the house without shoes

    It’s especially bad in the winter when the sun doesn’t rise until I’m already at work (I have one of those jobs where I’m there by 8am, but I’m also in the “9 or 10 hours” club)–it’s terrible trying to wake up when the moon’s still up and it’s 15 degrees out.

  2. buddhistfemme permalink
    September 4, 2008 9:57 am

    Sounds like you’re lucky to have your “sweet girl”.

  3. September 6, 2008 1:06 am

    Yeah. Unless I’ve gone to bed at such a time that my body naturally wakes up at 7 am. (which does mean going to bed by 8 or 9, I understand this!) then I am not ready to start my day at that hour. My body just wants so badly to be sleeping! My most restful sleep always seems to happen between six a.m. and ten a.m. when everyone else is runing around starting their day. And another thing – Dana is always asking if she should “fight” or “beat up” the thing I’m upset, even if it’s customers on the phone, or the traffic, or parking at the university…? funny girls!

Leave a Reply

