Skip to content

“this is what i want to be”

June 12, 2008

I totally had a revelation walking back from lunch!

I was thinking about something of a paradox that has bothered me for a long, long time. Simply, i think of myself as quite selfish, really. Primarily because i’m a hedonist. I’ve never thought of that as a particularly bad thing in itself. What bothered me is that people have my whole life told me that i’m a very selfless person. Again, i don’t think of either of those things as inherently good or bad, but i’ve always been really concerned that i must unintentionally lying to the world. What else could it mean when my view is the opposite of their view?

If that were true, yep, i’d be screwed. But the revelation is this: they’re not opposites. It’s not a zero-sum game. And so i can be (and am) both selfish and selfless. Clearly, sometimes they conflict, but, really, not often – not inherently.

How lovely! (’cause, for real, this has been bothering me for over a decade.)

Lady Brett
“Suddenly I See” – KT Tunstall

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

