Skip to content

“sweet, sad songs sung by lonely girls”

December 19, 2007

Just for the record – i fucking hate my period.  Best case scenario involves just bleeding for about a week.  I don’t like it.  It makes me feel dirty, like just kind of grungy.  It gives me, at least for the first day or two, a constant, if mild, nagging worry – am i leaking, do i need to change my tampon?  And then it just lingers for like 4 more days – just enough to have to deal with it.  Not that that’s ever all.  I started getting cramps about 4 years ago (after years and years of never ever having even the slightest pain), and i have since had not a single reprieve from them.  The severity varies – this time it’s just a little constant reminder, but then there are the curled up on the couch crying kind (with Jake bringing me tea and aspirin and sympathy and a massage…i hate to think of having those while single).    The only nice thing i can say about it is that mine is amazingly regular.  Like, seriously, other than how bad the cramps are going to be, it is always the same and like clockwork.

I don’t get PMS, never have.  I do, however, get grumpy ’cause i’m in pain and pissed off about the bleeding – ain’t the same thing.

I know, too much information, but this rant goes through my head every time, and i couldn’t resist bitching this time.

Lady Brett
“Lonely Girls” – Lucinda Williams

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2007 8:26 am

    Just for the record, me f-cking too. Ugh.

  2. December 28, 2007 12:42 pm

    Have you ever read ‘Cunt’? Inga has an interesting theory about PMS and cramps and their connection to not embracing everything there is to being a woman. Good read.

Leave a Reply

