Skip to content

“My heart won’t let my feet do things that they should do”

October 26, 2007

“THE fall concert season has begun at music halls around the world, and audiences are again sitting in rapt attention with their hands folded quietly in their laps. Does anyone besides me find this odd?” – Daniel Levitin in the NY Times

I’m so pleased to see this article.  I’m a terrible middle-class white kid – i just don’t understand all this “civilized” entertainment.  I never have, and i really don’t have any interest in aquiring that taste.  Music is for movement, for dancing!  But if dancing’s not your thing, i kind of understand.  What i don’t understand is how anyone could listen to music they enjoy without some kind of physical reaction – a sway, a head bop, foot tapping, just something.

Well, i can appreciate orchestral concerts a little bit – as visual performance art.  There is something really fascinating about watching the synchronized motions like a human machine, but it puts me completely on edge to listen to them in that environment.

Lady Brett
“I Won’t Dance” – Frank Sinatra

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2007 1:12 pm

    I was just practicing my violin last night! Yeah I agree that I mostly enjoy orchestral performances for the aesthetics of the way that the performers move – separately and together – when they play. I think they’re lucky that they get to actually play the instruments. I have not been that lucky in a while.

  2. October 26, 2007 5:20 pm

    I won’t go to concerts because I just can’t understand the moshing, dancing around and insanity that occurs there. If muscians played on stage and people sat/stood around and listened, maybe dancing among themselves, I think I would attend a lot more. All that chaos is just too much for me. Maybe it’s social phobia… or too much out of control-ness.

  3. October 27, 2007 2:46 pm

    Dylan, interesting – those are the kind of shows i like. well, i’m not so much for moshing, but the ones where people whoop and sing along, or dance to the music. i think there’s an interesting fleeting comraderie in an audience that is involved in the show (which is one of the reasons i don’t like large venues).

    also…love your new pic!

    and, Miss A, go you! i am absolutely amazed by people who can play instuments – best of luck finding time to play yours =)

Leave a Reply

