Skip to content

“I learned how to get along”

October 18, 2007

I’m in a good mood.  I blame the excellent windy weather (or maybe it’s the coffee *twitch*).  But, really, everything is changing and i’m not panicking anymore (or, for now), so it’s exciting.  Jake found a place she likes, and i’m about to go look at some – so we might be moving in the next two weeks.  I’m looking at moving really close to work – it’s downtown, which can get a little sketchy at night, but it’s not really that bad.  Mostly it’s just bum central; there’s limited actual crime.  But, i was thinking that taking care of Dog alone means i have to go home after work every day before i can do anything else, so it makes a lot of sense to live nearby.  Plus, i won’t really need a bus pass then, which is a bit of money saved.  And i’m just psyched in general about having my own place.

At lunch tuesday my boss told me they’d like to keep me on another year, if i want to stay.  I’ve been thinking about whether i’d want to stay (if the option came up) for a few months now, and never did make up my mind, but right now the idea of job security sounds pretty damn fantastic.  Particularly since i’ve got no one else to lean on financially (or, for that matter, any other way) right now (parents excluded, ’cause that is a last last resort).  Plus, don’t get me wrong, i like my job – and i love my coworkers.  It’s just that, in the long run, i really want to be doing something more…hands-on.  But i’ve just come to grips with the fact that there is no hurry – i’ve got time to figure out what i really want to do, for now a job that’s fine is…well, fine.

And i made me a lovely purse last night.  I’ve been meaning to for a while now, now that i’ve started wearing skirts it’s become clear why people have those things.  It’s cute – i used the black with black stripes fabric (from my twirly skirt) and lined it with the cherries on cream fabric (from my dress), and it fits my phone and wallet and basic shit like that.  It was a breeze to sew, too (well, i kinda screwed it up a bit, but it’s not obvious).  Oh, damn, when we move i’m going to have to get my sewing machine fixed – i’ve just been using Jake’s.

I went on a date last night with the girl from the club friday.  I’ve never really been on a date before.  I mean, i’ve been on a lot of dates, but they were always with someone i was already “with”, which is completely different.  I’ve never done this “getting to know you” date thing.  It was…awkward, but fun – not bad, just i’m a little bit shy for that sort of small-talk thing.  (My basic impression stands – she’s damn cute, and seems like a lot of fun.)  At the same time, i’ve recently taken a pretty huge step into “why the fuck not?”-land.  Which is to say that, instead of being petrified by social interaction with strangers/aquaintances, i’ve made myself accept that, really, there’s nothing to lose.  Like, so what if someone i’ve met twice decides i’m a loser?  It’s not much different than never having talked to them in the first place.  To be fair, i do still get nervous and stuff, but i can get over it, which is nice – freeing.

Also, text messages rock.  Phones kind of intimidate me anyway, and texting is so much less awkward than trying to hold a conversation with someone you don’t know well.  I guess i’m a bit behind the times – everyone i know has been all about texting for years.

Oh, and there’s a drag show saturday!  Actually, it’s kind of a shame, there are at least 4 other things going on saturday that i can’t go to ’cause of it, but i am excited about our show.

Lady Brett
“I Will Survive” – Cake

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 18, 2007 7:55 pm

    Yeah, welcome to “Why the hell not” land! It takes some bravery, but it’s worth it for a bit of fun! <3

Leave a Reply

