Skip to content

“Did you love me forever just for those three days”

July 16, 2007

A few other important moments from the trip:

We took Dog with us, which worked out better than i thought it would, although he was skittish the whole time.  Every time someone wanted to pet him (and they all do) it was like, “Where am I?  Who are you? Umm, don’t touch me.  Oh, a person, right.”

If you are ever in St. Louis, whatever you do, go to the City Museum.  Hell, go to St. Louis just to go to the city museum.  It was a fucking blast, and i could easily spend all day there.  It’s essentially a giant (3 or 4 story) indoor and outdoor all-ages playground made of everything.  It did beat me up and steal my girlfriend’s wallet, but i want to go back!  That is to say, i fell down some stairs in the dark cavey part and busted the knee out of my good jeans and broke my big toenail (ouch).  Jake’s phone fell out of her pocket around the same time.  After a stint to the first aid folks we got that back at the lost and found (speedy finding), and, of course, went and played more.  Her wallet fell out later, but we saw it happen, and i rescued it.  And they sell beer, and have a book nook.  And i simply can’t explain the awesomeness that it is, but i must go back sometime.  I’ll wear pre-fucked-up pants and close-toed shoes.

Also, the opener for the show was Charlie Louvin (formerly of the Louvin Brothers of 50s country music semi-fame).  He’s about 80, and provided this gem when introducing one of his band members: “He’s our ladykiller.  Actually, he doesn’t kill them, he just cripples ’em so I can catch ’em.”  heh.  It was awesome.

Lady Brett
“Those Three Days” – Lucinda Williams

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 17, 2007 9:54 pm

    I really want to visit that place now. I’m not sure why I would ever find myself in St. Louis, but if I do, I will not leave without a visit to the City Museum. All age playgrounds, c’mon! They should make more of them!

  2. July 17, 2007 9:55 pm

    All age playgrounds?! If I will ever find myself in St. Louis, I will certainly stop by this place. Sounds fantastic!

Leave a Reply

