Skip to content

“Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash”

June 28, 2007

I can’t quite make up my mind about who to support for president, but i am certainly leaning toward Obama.  I am on the email list for both Clinton and Obama, and i get a lot of fundraising appeals.  The first of these emails can be blamed for my current political leaning.  It basically comes down to this: Hillary’s letter said something like “give us money, even as little as 50 dollars will help” and Obama’s said something like “give us money, lots of people are giving 5 or 10 dollars.”

With that one peice of correspondence the Hillary campaign managed to make me feel that i was not of any interest to them or on their political radar.  How am i supposed to believe that you are really going to be a progressive president for the middle class (much less the poor) when you basically roll your eyes at a donation it would take me two days to earn?  I do realize that Clinton would accept donations that are very small, and i am certain Obama is getting (and pleased to be) much larger ones, but as a political campaign rhetoric, presentation and image are important – and, i think, telling.

Lady Brett
“Money” – Pink Floyd

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2007 5:27 pm

    I agree very much with what you said here. I could probably call myself an Obama supporter at this point, though my feminist side would love to just blindly support a woman, my politics are more intelligent and polished then that. Feminism is about equality, so the best candidate should be supported… Obama happens to be it, for me anyway.

Leave a Reply

